Standard training templates – A ‘Help’ or a ‘Hindrance’?

by newchapterlearning

Training template

As a training designer, how often have you been asked to work with someone elses’ template?  

Did you find them a help or a hindrance?

As training designers we have a flair for developing innovative, engaging and impactful learning. How then do we adapt our creative flair to the constraints that are sometimes placed upon us to work within the confines of standard design templates?

Depending on your style, some might find standard design templates a useful framework in which to work, but for others, they may prove to be a tool that restricts their innovation.

What’s your thoughts?

I’ve designed my own training templates. And designed training for companies who have their own and can see merit in both, however the key is in the quality of the content and the ability of the designer to use their expertise within whatever template they use.

Do you agree? 

New Chapter Learning – for Learning that sticks

Follow us on Twitter     LinkedIn

3 Responses to “Standard training templates – A ‘Help’ or a ‘Hindrance’?”

  1. A help overall methinks, the time a learner spends learning to navigate is time lost and possible frustration that will impact overall intent of learning object. Not a rule to be enforced 100% of time but a best practice IMHO. 🙂

  2. I design my own courses, and also do commissioned work for others. Most templates are easy enough to get to grips with, but I have had to work with some that just don’t sit easy with me. Whether its because of the way I write OR the way I train I’m not sure (I always envisage myself running an event when I write one). My own materials consist of two main documents: Trainers Guide (where key points to highlight and instructions about how to run activities/debrief discussions) goes, and a Workbook where all the information (theories and examples) goes. I also create supporting documentation, but that it exactly what it is…supporting. Templates that follow this principle are easy to work with. the templates I find hard are those where most of the content goes into a PowerPoint presentation, or you have to create a minute by minute script.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

